Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Burton Garners Big South First Team All-Conference Singles Distinction

Liberty freshman men's tennis player Chase Burton was named to the Big South Conference First Team All-Conference Singles list in the conference's release of award winners, Tuesday afternoon.

Burton's selection marks the eighth straight year a Liberty men's tennis player has been selected to the all-conference singles team.
The Orlando, Fla., native was one of eight Big South players selected to the singles first team. This spring, Burton has collected 12 singles wins and owns a 5-2 mark in Big South singles competition. The freshman is 7-3 in the No. 1 singles flight, good for the third-best winning percentage (.700) among No. 1 singles players in the Big South.

Burton's selection marks the eighth straight year a Liberty men's tennis player has been selected to the all-conference singles team.

Burton's play was recognized during the regular season as well, when he was named Big South Conference Men's Tennis Freshman of the Week in back-to-back weeks (Feb. 2 and 8).
Burton is 7-3 in his last 10 matches heading into the Big South Men's Tennis Championship.
Flames junior captain Diego Castano earned a spot on the Big South All-Academic team. The Statesville, N.C., native owns a 3.14 GPA and is majoring in business administration.

UNC Asheville's Henry Patten was named the Big South Player of the Year. The Asheville sophomore went 19-0 in singles play, during the regular season. Longwood's Amadeo Blasco was voted the Big South Freshman of the Year, while the Lancers' Pierre Tafelski was pegged the Big South Coach of the Year.
Presbyterian's Diego Manzanas was chosen as the Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year for a second consecutive year.

The Flames, who are the No. 8 seed for the 2017 Big South Men's Tennis Championship, will play a quarterfinal match against No. 1 seed Presbyterian, tomorrow at 9 a.m. at the Wake Forest Tennis Complex in Winston-Salem, N.C.

2017 Big South Conference Men's Tennis All-Conference and Award Winners
First Team All-Conference Singles
Henry Patten, Soph., UNC Asheville
Maximilian Scholl, Soph., Gardner-Webb
Chase Burton, Fr., Liberty
Amadeo Blasco, Fr., Longwood
Josh Swindler, Sr., UNC Asheville
Dustin Werner, Soph., Campbell
Ben Kelley, Sr., Presbyterian College
Gerard Sola, Soph., Campbell

First Team All-Conference Doubles
Henry Patten/Josh Swindler, UNC Asheville
Alex Lykou/Brandon Mills, Presbyterian College
Dustin Werner/Lorenz Schwab, Campbell
Florian Uffer/Amadeo Blasco, Longwood

Second Team All-Conference Singles
Diego Quiroz, Soph., Winthrop
Florian Uffer, Sr., Longwood
Breno Plentz, Fr., Gardner-Webb
Jaime Castillo Lopez, Fr., Presbyterian College
Ruy Teixeira, Soph., Winthrop
Gabriel Dias, Fr., Winthrop
Alejandro Bejar, Jr., Presbyterian College
Fernando Clemente, Fr., Campbell
Josh Ryan, Jr., Winthrop

Second Team All-Conference Doubles
Aditya Gokhale/Diego Quiroz, Winthrop
Jaime Castillo Lopez/Diego Manzanas, Presbyterian College
Ben Kelley/Joel Roberts, Presbyterian College
Gerard Sola/Jonathan O'Neal, Campbell

All-Academic Team
Dustin Werner, Jr., Campbell
Maximilian Scholl, Soph., Gardner-Webb
Diego Castano, Jr., Liberty
Florian Uffer, Sr., Longwood
Diego Manzanas, Sr., Presbyterian College
Alexandros Caldwell, Soph., Radford
Henry Patten, Soph., UNC Asheville
Diego Quiroz, Soph., Winthrop

Player of the Year
Henry Patten, Soph., UNC Asheville

Freshman of the Year
Amadeo Blasco, Longwood

Coach of the Year
Pierre Tafelski, Longwood

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Diego Manzanas, Sr., Presbyterian College

No comments:

Post a Comment